Alisher Usmanov是远洋寡头, 多米尼克·米格利写道

让罗曼·阿布拉莫维奇看起来像个穷光蛋的远洋寡头: 编剧/导演 – 在被判犯有欺诈和腐败罪后在苏联流放地服刑六年 – 总是有点粗糙, 多米尼克·米格利写道

  • 俄罗斯寡头阿利舍尔·乌斯马诺夫, 68, 据信价值142亿英镑
  • 他在英国的资产包括价值 2.1 亿英镑的伦敦豪宅和乡村庄园
  • 乌斯马诺夫是最新一位被外交部制裁的俄罗斯亿万富翁
  • 传记作家多米尼克·米奇利分析了普京的“啦啦队长”的下一步’
  • 当俄罗斯寡头阿利舍尔·乌斯马诺夫(Alisher Usmanov)在他作为足球俱乐部大股东的 11 年任期内定期要求获得阿森纳董事会席位时, 它的贵族主席彼得希尔伍德拒绝了他, 但确实给了他一个安慰奖.

    为什么不在董事包厢里找个座位呢? 生气, 但仍然热衷于与阿森纳的蓝筹董事会成员擦肩而过, 乌斯马诺夫要求在酋长球场的至圣所的三个座位.

    当一个神秘的希尔伍德问为什么, 他回答: ‘给我一个, 两个给我的保镖。

    在被判犯有欺诈罪后,年轻时在苏联流放地服刑六年的男子, 国家财产的腐败和盗窃向来有点棘手.

    昨晚,他成为最新一位因与莫斯科有联系而被外交部制裁的俄罗斯亿万富翁, 三天后欧盟做了同样的事情.

    乌斯马诺夫对欧盟的决定做出回应,坚称他的企业是“合法的”, 并将对他的制裁描述为“不公平”, 并补充说他将“使用一切法律手段保护我的荣誉和名誉”.

    俄罗斯亿万富翁阿利舍尔·乌斯马诺夫和他的妻子伊琳娜合影抵达莫斯科参加莫斯科大剧院的重新开幕式 2011

    俄罗斯亿万富翁阿利舍尔·乌斯马诺夫和他的妻子伊琳娜合影抵达莫斯科参加莫斯科大剧院的重新开幕式 2011

    然而, 在楼梯底部发现, 乌斯马诺夫在卖掉他的球后转而效忠的俱乐部 30 阿森纳百分之一的股份 2018, 对欧盟声明的反应略有不同; 通过暂停他的公司对其训练场的赞助,并撤回他对一个价值 5 亿英镑的新体育场的冠名权,该体育场将于 2024.

    鉴于俱乐部显然无意退还他四年前支付的 3000 万英镑首付, 这必须坚持.

    那说, 乌斯马诺夫, 68, 上次计算时价值 142 亿英镑,因此可以将其作为零用现金注销. 面对现实吧, 他让切尔西老板罗曼·阿布拉莫维奇, 谁身家92亿英镑, 看起来像个穷光蛋.

    更令人痛心的一定是他的损失 512 英尺超级游艇 Dilbar, 以他心爱的母亲的名字命名. (他的父亲也没有必要感到被冷落: 乌斯马诺夫以他的名字命名了他价值 1.5 亿英镑的空中客车 A340 私人飞机布尔汗。)

    自去年 10 月以来,Dilbar 一直停泊在汉堡的一家造船厂, 进行全面改装, 但在这艘价值 4.5 亿英镑的船只被当局扣押后,工作于周二停止.

    失去使用有史以来安装在游艇上的最大游泳池一定是一个扳手, 以及两个直升机停机坪, 桑拿, 美容院和健身房.

    也不会再有欢乐的远洋派对了, 与 24 住在迪尔巴家的人 12 套房, 由不少于 96.

    乌斯马诺夫的国家桩是萨顿广场, 石油大亨约翰保罗盖蒂的前萨里故居. 他买下了都铎庄园及其周边 300 英亩 2004 1000万英镑

    乌斯马诺夫的国家桩是萨顿广场, 石油大亨约翰保罗盖蒂的前萨里故居. 他买下了都铎庄园及其周边 300 英亩 2004 1000万英镑

    乌斯马诺夫现在最大的恐惧一定是英国政府, 跟随欧盟的脚步, 将在这里冻结他的资产. 以及它们是什么资产.

    一家名为USM的控股公司的老板, 谁在钢铁行业发了财, 乌斯马诺夫在德国有家, 瑞士, 摩纳哥, 意大利和, 当然, 俄罗斯——但肯定没有一个可以与他在英国住宅的宏伟和富裕相提并论.

    他的伦敦基地是Beechwood House, 位于二级保护名单中的豪宅 11 海格特绿树成荫的北伦敦区, 他从卡塔尔埃米尔那里买的 2008 4800万英镑.

    他的安全细节住在现场,可以看到在路虎车队的车队中来来往往,车窗被涂黑,上面挂着 USM 牌照 1, USM 2, USM 3, 弗兰克·辛纳屈在这本回忆录中更像是特蕾莎修女.

    他的国家桩是萨顿广场, 石油大亨约翰保罗盖蒂的前萨里故居. 他买下了都铎庄园及其周边 300 英亩 2004 1000万英镑. 但这就是高端房地产市场的繁荣,据说这两处房产的总价值为 2.1 亿英镑.

    支付所有这些费用的资金来自一个根植于乌斯马诺夫成立的企业的帝国 1986, 出狱后 33.

    苏联当时由总统米哈伊尔·戈尔巴乔夫管理, 他们的改革开启了民营企业的新时代.

    自去年 10 月以来,乌斯马诺夫价值 4.5 亿英镑的超级游艇 Dilbar 一直停泊在汉堡的一家造船厂, 进行全面改装, 但周二工作停止,被德国当局没收

    自去年 10 月以来,乌斯马诺夫价值 4.5 亿英镑的超级游艇 Dilbar 一直停泊在汉堡的一家造船厂, 进行全面改装, 但周二工作停止,被德国当局没收

    乌斯马诺夫看到了塑料袋市场的空白, 一种在前苏联非常稀缺的商品,人们清洗并重复使用它们. 虽然这使他成为百万富翁, 如此不起眼的企业永远不足以满足乌斯马诺夫的野心.

    在能源巨头俄罗斯天然气工业股份公司的投资部门运行一段时间后, 他承担了其中一项次要资产, 金属企业, 并开始了收购狂潮.

    他收购了矿山和钢铁厂,创建了一家名为 Metalloinvest 的企业集团, 今天仍然是他帝国的重要组成部分的企业.

    乌斯马诺夫煞费苦心地指出,他并不是通过在被操纵的私有化交易的正确端发财, 如此多的俄罗斯寡头赚了数十亿美元的方式.

    这是有道理的: 他足够精明,能够及早发现技术的潜力, 例如. 在 2009, 他投资了 Facebook 并通过 2012 他的持股量增加了十倍,达到 $1 十亿, 推动他进一步领先于俄罗斯的传统寡头, 他们在很大程度上坚持石油和钢铁.

    他还大量持有苹果等其他强劲的股票, 推特和爱彼迎.

    但他在监狱里的咒语是他记录上的一个污点. 就在他准备飘起来的时候 20 他的手机公司 MegaFon 的 1% 在伦敦证券交易所以 12.5 亿英镑的价格出售 2012 有人觉得是时候洗白他的名声了.

    乌斯马诺夫以他父亲的名字命名他价值 1.5 亿英镑的空客 A340 私人飞机布尔汗

    乌斯马诺夫以他父亲的名字命名他价值 1.5 亿英镑的空客 A340 私人飞机布尔汗

    乌斯马诺夫声称他被监禁的指控 1980 在他卷入乌兹别克斯坦敌对克格勃派系之间的政治争端后被捏造, 并指出他随后被戈尔巴乔夫赦免, 并且案件的所有记录都从警方记录中删除.

    但对他来说很烦人, 维基百科上对他被捕和监禁的引用仍然在线供所有人查看.

    据报道,公关公司 RLM Finsbury 编辑了乌斯马诺夫的维基百科条目,以删除他的刑事定罪细节, 并提到他据称如何威胁要对重复指控他是“黑帮和敲诈勒索者”的博主采取法律行动.

    公关公司用概述其客户的慈善事业和他的艺术收藏规模的文字替换了这些部分.

    在被泰晤士报接洽后, 该公司为编辑道歉, 说: “这不是以适当的方式完成的,这种方法也没有得到乌斯马诺夫先生的授权. 我们为此道歉,它不会再发生了。

    这种高档的诡计与乌斯马诺夫在乌兹别克斯坦的起源相去甚远, 他在首都塔什干长大. 他父亲, 人脉广泛的共产党员, 是它的首席检察官.

    一个圆 5 英尺 7 在, 很难将乌斯马诺夫视为运动员,但, 作为一个少年, 他是一名热情的击剑运动员,在体育馆里遇到了即将成为他妻子的女人, 来自撒马尔罕的体操运动员伊琳娜·维纳.

    乌斯马诺夫不仅比她小五岁, 但他是穆斯林,她是犹太人, 所以从表面上看,他们并不是特别兼容. 但他们多年后在莫斯科重新联系, 到那时,她身后的婚姻失败了,还有一个儿子叫安东.

    真爱的过程没有帮助, 当然, 乌斯马诺夫被判入狱的小事. 但古老的浪漫主义者知道通往少女心的路.

    “他送我一条手帕 [从监狱] 哪一个, 根据乌兹别克传统, 是求婚,’伊琳娜后来说. “我今天还保留着它。”

    在许多方面,它被证明是天作之合. 正如乌斯马诺夫是一个不俘虏的人, 伊琳娜同样坚强.

    此后,她一直担任俄罗斯艺术体操队的主教练 2001 过去六位奥运会全能冠军中有五位是她的学生.

    但情商似乎并不是她的教练武器库的重要组成部分.

    超越极限, 一部纪录片,描述了她在比赛前的训练方法 2016 游戏, 可以看到她使用诸如, ‘你会死的, 乐队, “用你的颤抖去他妈的”.

    对她公平, 然而, 这些长篇大论的主题, 玛格丽塔玛蒙, 继续赢得金牌.

    伊琳娜也享有良好的关系 2004 那好吧, 阿丽娜·卡巴耶娃, 谁通过为 Maxim 杂志拍摄裸体来庆祝她的胜利. 在她作为红颜知己和教练的角色中, 不久之后,伊琳娜策划了一次重要的会议: 她介绍了阿丽娜, 俄罗斯最性感的名人, 给总统.

    如果流言蜚语是可信的, 从那时起,她和弗拉基米尔·普京就一直在一起,是双胞胎男孩的骄傲父母.

    但你不会在俄罗斯媒体上读到这个“第一家庭”: 爆料他们恋情的报纸 2008 一夜之间被关闭.

    但是通过玩丘比特, 伊琳娜只能加强她丈夫与克里姆林宫高层的亲密关系.

    乌斯马诺夫过去肯定明确表示过他对普京的欣赏.

    在 2010, 他说: “我很自豪我认识普京, 每个人都不喜欢他的事实不是普京的问题. 我不认为世界在长崎之后爱杜鲁门。

    这可能是真的,也可能不是. 但很明显,在乌克兰之后,西方没有人喜欢普京——乌斯马诺夫错误地将自己认定为俄罗斯酋长的拉拉队员之一.

Alisher Usmanov is the ocean-going oligarch, writes DOMINIC MIDGLEY 

The ocean-going oligarch who makes Roman Abramovich look like a pauper: Alisher Usmanov – who served six years in a Soviet penal colony after being convicted of fraud and corruption – has always been a little rough around the edges, writes DOMINIC MIDGLEY

  • Russian oligarch Alisher Usmanov, 68, is believed to be worth £14.2 billion 
  • His UK assets include a London mansion and country pile worth  £210million
  • Usmanov is the latest Russian billionaire to be sanctioned by the Foreign Office
  • Biographer Dominic Midgley analyses what’s next for Putin’s ‘cheerleader’  
  • When the Russian oligarch Alisher Usmanov made one of his periodic demands for a seat on the Arsenal board during his 11-year tenure as a major shareholder of the football club, its patrician chairman Peter Hill-Wood turned him down, but did offer him a consolation prize.

    Why not have a seat in the directors’ box instead? Miffed, but nevertheless keen to rub shoulders with Arsenal’s blue-chip board members, Usmanov requested three seats in the Emirates stadium’s holy of holies.

    When a mystified Hill-Wood asked why, he replied: ‘One for me, two for my bodyguards.’

    The man who served six years in a Soviet penal colony as a young man after being convicted of fraud, corruption and theft of state property has always been a little rough around the edges. 

    And last night he became the latest Russian billionaire to be sanctioned by the foreign office over links to Moscow, three days after the EU did the same thing.

    Usmanov responded to the EU decision by insisting his businesses are ‘legitimate’, and described the sanctioning of him as ‘unfair’, adding that he would ‘use all legal means to protect my honour and reputation’.

    Russian billionaire Alisher Usmanov and his wife Irina pictured arriving for the re-opening ceremony of the Bolshoi Theatre in Moscow in 2011

    Russian billionaire Alisher Usmanov and his wife Irina pictured arriving for the re-opening ceremony of the Bolshoi Theatre in Moscow in 2011

    However, Everton, the club to which Usmanov switched his allegiance after selling his 30 per cent stake in Arsenal in 2018, reacted to the EU announcement a little differently; by suspending his companies’ sponsorship of its training ground and withdrawing his naming rights to a new £500 million stadium due to open in 2024.

    Given that the club apparently has no intention of refunding the £30 million downpayment he made four years ago, this must stick in the craw.

    That said, Usmanov, 68, was worth £14.2 billion at the last count and so can afford to write it off as petty cash. Let’s face it, he makes Chelsea owner Roman Abramovich, who is worth £9.2 billion, look like a pauper. 

    More galling must be the loss of his 512 ft megayacht Dilbar, named after his beloved mother. (And there’s no need for his father to feel left out: Usmanov christened his £150 million Airbus A340 private jet Bourkhan after him.)

    Dilbar has been moored in a Hamburg shipyard since last October, undergoing a comprehensive refit, but work came to a halt on Tuesday after the £450 million vessel was impounded by the authorities.

    It must be a wrench to lose the use of the largest swimming pool ever installed on a yacht, as well as two helicopter pads, a sauna, a beauty salon and a gym.

    And there will be no more jolly ocean-going parties, with 24 people housed in Dilbar’s 12 suites, waited on by a crew of no fewer than 96.

    Usmanov's country pile is Sutton Place, the former Surrey home of the oil baron John Paul Getty. He bought the Tudor manor house and its surrounding 300 acres in 2004 for £10 million

    Usmanov’s country pile is Sutton Place, the former Surrey home of the oil baron John Paul Getty. He bought the Tudor manor house and its surrounding 300 acres in 2004 for £10 million

    Usmanov’s greatest fear now must be that the British Government, having followed the EU’s lead, will freeze his assets here. And what assets they are.

    The boss of a holding company called USM, who made his fortune in the steel industry, Usmanov has homes in Germany, Switzerland, Monaco, Italy and, of course, Russia — but surely none of them can compare to the grandeur and opulence of his UK residences.

    His London base is Beechwood House, a Grade II-listed mansion set in 11 acres of the leafy North London district of Highgate, which he bought from the Emir of Qatar in 2008 for £48 million.

    His security detail lives on site and can be seen coming and going in convoys of Range Rovers with blacked-out windows bearing registration plates USM 1, USM 2, USM 3, and so on.

    His country pile is Sutton Place, the former Surrey home of the oil baron John Paul Getty. He bought the Tudor manor house and its surrounding 300 acres in 2004 for £10 million. But such is the buoyancy of the high-end real estate market that the two properties are now said to have a combined value of £210 million.

    The wherewithal to pay for all this comes from an empire that has its roots in a business Usmanov set up in 1986, after emerging from prison aged 33.

    The USSR was then run by President Mikhail Gorbachev, whose perestroika reforms ushered in a new era of private enterprise.

    Usmanov's £450 million superyacht Dilbar has been moored in a Hamburg shipyard since last October, undergoing a comprehensive refit, but work came to a halt on Tuesday it was seized by German authorities

    Usmanov’s £450 million superyacht Dilbar has been moored in a Hamburg shipyard since last October, undergoing a comprehensive refit, but work came to a halt on Tuesday it was seized by German authorities

    Usmanov saw a gap in the market for plastic bags, a commodity so scarce in the former Soviet Union that people washed and reused them. While it made him a dollar millionaire, such a modest enterprise was never going to be enough to satisfy a man of Usmanov’s ambitions.

    After a stint running energy giant Gazprom’s investment arm, he took on one of its minor assets, a metals business, and embarked on an acquisition spree.

    He bought up mines and steel plants to create a conglomerate called Metalloinvest, a business that is still a major part of his empire today.

    Usmanov takes great pains to point out that he didn’t make his fortune by being at the right end of a rigged privatisation deal, the way so many of Russia’s oligarchs made their billions.

    And there is truth in that: he was shrewd enough to spot early the potential of technology, for example. In 2009, he invested in Facebook and by 2012 his shareholding had increased tenfold to $1 billion, propelling him further ahead of Russia’s traditional oligarchs, who have largely stuck with oil and steel.

    He also has substantial holdings in other turbo-charged stocks such as Apple, Twitter and Airbnb.

    But his spell in jail was a stain on his record. It was when he was preparing to float up to 20 per cent of his mobile phone company MegaFon on the London Stock Exchange for £1.25 billion in 2012 that someone felt it was time to launder his reputation. 

    Usmanov christened his £150 million Airbus A340 private jet Bourkhan after his father

    Usmanov christened his £150 million Airbus A340 private jet Bourkhan after his father

    Usmanov claims the charges on which he was jailed in 1980 were trumped up after he got caught up in a political dispute between rival KGB factions in Uzbekistan, and points out that he was subsequently pardoned by Gorbachev, and all records of the case were expunged from police records.

    But annoyingly for him, references to his arrest and incarceration remained online on Wikipedia for all to see.

    PR company RLM Finsbury reportedly edited Usmanov’s Wikipedia entry to remove details of his criminal conviction, as well as mention of how he had allegedly threatened legal action against bloggers who repeated allegations that he was a ‘gangster and racketeer’.

    The PR agency replaced those sections with text outlining its client’s philanthropy and the scale of his art collection. 

    After being approached by The Times newspaper, the company apologised for the edits, saying: ‘This was not done in the proper manner nor was this approach authorised by Mr Usmanov. We apologise for this and it will not happen again.’

    Such upmarket chicanery is a far cry from Usmanov’s origins in Uzbekistan, where he was brought up in the capital Tashkent. His father, a well-connected member of the Communist Party, was its chief prosecutor.

    A rotund 5 ft 7 in, it’s hard to see Usmanov as an athlete but, as a teenager, he was an enthusiastic fencer and it was at a sports hall that he met the woman who was to become his wife, a gymnast called Irina Viner from Samarkand.

    Not only was Usmanov five years younger than her, but he was Muslim and she was Jewish, so on the face of it they weren’t particularly compatible. But they reconnected many years later in Moscow, by which time she had a failed marriage behind her and a son called Anton.

    The course of true love was not helped, of course, by the little matter of Usmanov’s jail sentence. But the old romantic knew the way to a girl’s heart.

    ‘He sent me a handkerchief [from prison] which, according to Uzbek tradition, is a proposal of marriage,’ Irina said later. ‘I still keep it today.’

    In many ways it proved to be a match made in heaven. Just as Usmanov is a man who takes no prisoners, Irina is every bit as tough.

    She has been head coach of Russian Rhythmic Gymnastics since 2001 and five of the past six Olympic all-around champions have been her pupils.

    But emotional intelligence does not appear to have been an essential part of her instructor’s armoury.

    In Over The Limit, a documentary that depicted her training methods in the run up to the 2016 Games, she could be seen giving one of her charges regular tongue-lashings using choice epithets such as, ‘You’re going to die, b****’ and, ‘Go f*** yourself with your shaking’.

    To be fair to her, however, the subject of these tirades, Margarita Mamun, went on to win the gold medal.

    Irina also enjoyed good relations with the 2004 winner, Alina Kabaeva, who celebrated her victory by posing nude for Maxim magazine. In her role as confidante as well as coach, Irina engineered a momentous meeting shortly afterwards: she introduced Alina, Russia’s sexiest celebrity, to the president.

    If the gossips are to be believed, she and Vladimir Putin have been together ever since and are the proud parents of twin boys.

    But you won’t read about this ‘First Family’ in the Russian Press: the newspaper that broke the news of their relationship in 2008 was closed down overnight.

    But by playing Cupid, Irina can only have reinforced her husband’s closeness to the top man in the Kremlin.

    Usmanov has certainly made his appreciation of Putin clear in the past.

    In 2010, he said: ‘I am proud that I know Putin, and the fact that everybody does not like him is not Putin’s problem. I don’t think the world loved Truman after Nagasaki.’

    That may or may not be true. But what is clear is that no one in the West loves Putin after Ukraine — and Usmanov made the mistake of identifying himself as one of the Russian chief’s cheerleaders.